The 9-11 10th Anniversary Ceremony and The Priesthood of the People


By Dr Nick Mazza

When I first hear that New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg did not invite religious leaders from the world’s major religions to participate in the 10th anniversary ceremony to memorialize the attacks on our country on September 11, 2001, I was confused.

I followed some of the commentary in the media both pro and con on this decision. However, while watching the 9-11 ceremony on television, I was elated by the words of “love” and the spirit of  “Godly love”  that were spoken so spontaneously from the hearts of those both remembering their family who died that day as well as in the official talks from secular leaders and songs of love and spiritual vision that made up this event.

Every secular leader I heard mentioned God in their talk. Every family member shared their godly love for their departed family or friend. God was truly present in this ceremony. God was present in the hearts, words and memory of the people. There was no need for “official” religious leaders to bring the message of God’s love and care for us.  I was proud of the people.  Yes, the common people brought the truth of God’s love and care deeply into my spirit and I am confident into billions of others as well that shared this moment in time.

On a personal level, I had tears listening to the words of Paul Simon when he sung “Sounds of Silence” to the crowd at Ground Zero. I have added these words to this posting for your gratification as well.  I hope and pray that the silent words in our hearts, given to us by the love of God, be shouted in the streets by the “people” in the spirit of God. Do not be afraid.

“Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone
‘Neath the halo of a street lamp
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dared
Disturb the sound of silence

“Fools”, said I, “You do not know
Silence like a cancer grows
Hear my words that I might teach you
Take my arms that I might reach you”
But my words, like silent raindrops fell
And echoed
In the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made
And the sign flashed out its warning
In the words that it was forming
And the sign said, “The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls”
And whispered in the sounds of silence”

Lets hear from you on the priesthood of the people. Dr. Nick

One Response to The 9-11 10th Anniversary Ceremony and The Priesthood of the People

  1. What is a “Priest?” — a mediator, someone who presents a “sacrifice” for the people, one who leads the worship of the people,one who is a “bridge” [Pontiff] from the people to God.

    I pray God— hasten the day when the people all know that there now is but One Priest and His name is The Lord Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

